Effulgent Sunshine

I’m a huge Whedon fan. HUGE.

I watch Buffy, Angel, Firefly, and Serenity in their entirety every year. At least once, sometimes twice.

Yes. I’m a total geek that way.

For those of you who know Spike, my favorite vampire EVER, you’ll be familiar with his poetry:

“My soul is wrapped in harsh repose,
Midnight descends in raven-colored clothes,
But soft… behold!
A sunlight beam
…Butting a swath of glimmering gleam.
My heart expands,
’tis grown a bulge in it,
Inspired by your beauty…
Effulgent.”

Now there is a man who can write a love poem!😀

Effulgent. I loved this word so much, as it was just complete silliness, I just had to find a way to work it into my book Avalon Revisited

(excerpt from Chapter 2)

“Pleasure,” I said, bowing. The ladies curtsied and batted their eyes at me from behind their ornate fans, which matched their outfits perfectly. As did their parasols. They were all the same general age, this was to say between forty and fifty. No doubt their husbands, the honorable barons, were considerably older. Which was why I had my pick of ripe women. It was a good life.

“Won’t you join me, ladies?”

“It would be our pleasure,” said Lady Bainbridge with a flirtatious spin of her parasol, obviously the boldest of the lot. She was dressed in garish yellow, the color of effulgent sunshine. I feared the brightness of her dress would dust me on the spot.

Lady Hamilton was thankfully dressed in a more muted shade of soft pink. Their colorful celebration of springtime no doubt made me look like a deep hole hidden among the blossoms, hoping for someone to misstep and twist their ankle while gathering flowers.

I stepped back to let them sit upon the blanket, and I took the back corner closest to the trees for myself. It was shady enough that the ladies no longer needed their parasols, so they collapsed them and laid them down.

“Lovely day,” Lady Bainbridge offered, settling in. She curled her legs to the side, allowing her ankle to scandalously peek out from beneath her lemon skirts. Even with the high boots, ladies were not to show their ankles in public. This woman was indeed bold and quite open to seduction.

“It certainly is,” I replied, pretending not to notice.

“Dreadful news from the party last night,” Lady Bainbridge said. “Were you in attendance, Arthur?” She reached down to the edge of her skirt and paused, forcing my eyes there. Then she covered herself completely with the sunny ruffles.

“I was, Lady Bainbridge,” I answered, snapping my eyes back to hers. She smiled, knowing she had my attention. “I was quite shocked to see the headlines this morning. Did you notice anything amiss?”

“Not at all, Lord York.”

“Please, call me Arthur. I have always been uncomfortable with titles.”

“Then you must call me Emily,” insisted Lady Bainbridge.

“And me Hazel,” Lady Hamilton added, blushing to a shade much deeper than her dress. She looked down at her hands delicately folded in her lap over her collapsed fan.

“Of course. Now that we are all confidants, what do you make of such news, Arthur?” Lady Bainbridge asked, pulling my attention back to her. She wasn’t used to sharing attention, but I was quite intrigued by Lady Hamilton. She certainly would pose much more of a challenge.

-_Q

Avalon Revisited will be once again available on Amazon.com and wherever books are sold starting next week. Check back for updates!

~ by omgrey on December 14, 2010.

Please Share Your Thoughts...

 
