Oh Endless Night.

Oh endless night.
Repeating echoes of joy.

Slowly fading.

Pushing against the faltering
Walls of my sanity.

The clearest remnants of you
Are the scars on my thighs.
Also fading.
Slowly.

After all. I do not know you.
I piece you together
From evasive texts and afterthoughts,
From pictures and tweets.
Reading between the lines
Filling in the rest.

I’m in love with a fictional character,
An untouchable figment
Who just happens to look like you.

That love is fading, too.

-_Q

(I just found this poem in a notebook. Must’ve written it at the beginning of the year. The first line and title is a line from Oryx and Crake by Margaret Atwood. The way Atwood described how Snowman had to create Oryx,”piece her together from the slivers of her he’d gathered and hoarded carefully,” hit very close to home at the time. This is the product.)

~ by omgrey on April 29, 2011.

One Response to “Oh Endless Night.”

  1. […] I See is Your Absence,” “Oh Endless Night,” and “Look Into My Eyes” are the poems read this week. All appeared on this blog […]

Please Share Your Thoughts...

 
