Steampunk Spotlight: ENSMB

This week, I’m shining the gaslight on the joyous musical act from the Steampunk World’s Fair: Emperor Norton’s Stationary Marching Band (ENSMB).

ENSMB #1

As I mentioned in last week’s con report, ENSMB was one of the highlights of my entire weekend there. They not only played during their scheduled sets, but they also played throughout the weekend in the most unlikely places. They played in the portico. They played in the foyer. They played in the hallways. They played in the elevator. And wherever they played, they were followed by a group of dancing people, spreading joy and the spirit of Steampunk.

I got the chance to do a lovely jitterbug swing with DJ Doctor Q while ENSMB played, and that is something I’ll never forget. Every time I heard the pounding of their bass drum, the cry of their violin, and the jazzy liveliness of their horn section, I couldn’t help but stop whatever I was doing, clap my hands, and swing my fluffy bustle to the beat.

If you ever see that ENSMB will be playing near you, be sure to catch their show. You will be so glad you did.

Connect with them online: website * twitter * facebook

~ by omgrey on June 7, 2011.

One Response to “Steampunk Spotlight: ENSMB”

  1. […] Steampunk Spotlight: ENSMB […]

Please Share Your Thoughts...

 
