Suicidal Tendencies (Podcast)

Episode 6: Suicidal Tendencies.

Suicidal tendencies and mental illness are grossly misunderstood in our society, and they carry a nasty stigma as well. Any mental illness, whether relatively mild or severe, is a physical problem first. Through education, we can begin to understand the nature of these disorders and counteract them before they become too much to bear, leading to self-injury or suicide.

Suicidal Tendencies (Podcast)

Original Blog Post

~ by omgrey on July 1, 2011.

5 Responses to “Suicidal Tendencies (Podcast)”

  1. Fabulous Podcast! Being a Survivor of Suicide this subject hits intimately home in a few ways. Thank you for sharing it! You touched on several significant & misunderstood points. The social stigma surrounding the pathology can sometimes be just as difficult to manage!

    You are a Dr. Who fan aren’t you? You recall the episode on Vincent van Gogh? His life story always encourages me when dealing with “socially dysfunctional” persons who in many ways have exquisite gifts & talents to offer the world, particularly the mediocre world stuck in conformity & non-creativity. I know several manic-bipolar people who in non-clinical/medical terms utterly brilliant & energizing. And even though their “bottoms” are just as hypersensitized, for me they help me monitor just how ALIVE I am or could be. HAH! Another one of those paradoxes I suppose! 😉

    • I am a Doctor Who fan, and the Van Gogh episode brought me to tears. It affected me deeply. I understand that kind of struggle. Although I’m not bipolar, I do have trouble with emotional regulation.

      • Mmm, “emotional regulation” is a great description. My dilemma is sometimes this:

        Life motto #1 – You cannot truly know the heights of joy unless you’ve tasted the lows of despair. Or…
        — “Jump, and you will find out how to unfold your wings as you fall.” — Ray Bradbury

        Then I have Life motto A…
        If you do not guard your treasures, the vultures become fat.

        But I do know this, any good financial investor will tell you “diversify!” And it is wise advice in life. You cannot become better unless you practice, practice, practice…learning from success & mistakes. That is particularly true in love and HOW MANY you love! 🙂

  2. Just listened to this. I’m enjoying your podcast series, and appreciate your sharing about such a powerful topic.

    I hadn’t thought about poly as a diversification strategy, as with investing. Interesting idea.

Please Share Your Thoughts...

 
