Versatile Blogger Award

The coolest thing happened to me the other day. Alphasiren nominated me for a Versatile Blogger Award, which in essence, means they presented me with the award itself. I’m everso pleased for the kudos, plus I found a really cool non-traditional relationship blog site in Alphasiren (and more that they listed on their page). And they have an awesome blog on non-monogamy themselves! Totally check them out.

The Versatile Blogger Award is a way to give recognition to other bloggers you follow and whom others might not yet have discovered. I am deeply honored that Alphasiren chose me.

There are four simple rules for The Versatile Blogger Award:

  • Post a link to the person who gave you the award thanking them for the award. Yea.
  • Tell your readers seven random things about yourself.
  • Award up to 15 newly discovered blogs.
  • Send them a note letting them know you nominated them.
7 Random Things About Me:
  1. I’m an ethical vegetarian and have been for the better part of 20 years. Huge animal lover and advocate, giving a voice to those that have none. Up until very recently, I had a wonderful little canine/feline family: 3 dogs and a cat. And they were my kids. Unfortunately, I’ve lost two to death this summer, so it feels like my family has been cut in half. Still, I still have a dog and a cat, and I love them dearly.
  2. The perfect outdoor temperature for me is about 55F, grey skies, and rain. Really need to move to England. Or Seattle. I like to be just a little bit cold so I can get warm by putting on a hoodie or a sweater, or cuddling up with someone special in front of a roaring fire.
  3. I need copious amounts of loving attention. If I don’t get it, I get rather grumpy and sad. I’m fortunate that my husband is very affectionate. And while he’s away at work, I get my fix from online communities and friends. So…talk to me! (@omgrey)😀
  4. I have a very deep capacity to give and receive love, all kinds of love. So deep that it scares a lot of people. A friend this summer said this about me, and it meant the world to me:
    “Unlike a lot of people in this world, you are very good at commitment. Almost too good. When you make a friend, you totally commit to them, you give everything you can and more then you possibly should, even when it’s at your own expense.
    You are a deeply caring individual, when something is important to you, you share it with the world around you. A lot of people are too selfish to do that, why share something that important and personal? But you? You want to help make the world around you better and help the people around you to be better.”
  5.  I don’t fall in love easily, but when I do, I fall very deeply. The men in my life come before anything and everything else. And I have a tendency to hold onto to things long after I should’ve let go. I’m working on it.
  6. Autumn is my favorite season. The fall colors just make me smile. Pumpkins do, too. It’s when I put my baking mittens on and start making all sorts of yummy treats. This would be a great time to have children, because I end up eating it all myself! And Halloween, by far my favorite holiday. So dark and delicious!
  7. I have dreamt of living in England for 27 years, and I’m determined to make that dream a reality sometime in the next decade. I’m an amateur Anglophile, and I often know more about English History than that scepter’d isle’s inhabitants. My degrees are in British Literature, and although I don’t have a drop of British blood in my veins, my whole heart and soul are British.
Awesome Blogs to Follow:
  • Lesism. Seriously. Read every single post the man has written. Excellent writing. Poignant and inspirational posts. This is my new favorite blog.
  • Terrible Minds. Chuck Wendig’s blog on being a working author. He’s very funny and his writing is superb. He challenges me to become a better writer.
  • GoatBoy73. A new blog, just about a month old, but his posts are painfully honest and real. I admire this blogger’s courage and envy his writing style.
  • AdrienneCrezo.com. Extremely talented writer and all-around awesome person. Her blogs are not only exquisitely written, but they are truly varied and versatile.
  • OpenMarriageBlog. I just found this blog thanks to Alphasiren’s list, and I love it. It tracks an open marriage through the ups and downs–and near divorce–because they didn’t lay clear ground rules at the outset, something I’ve spoken of in this blog.
  • Alphasiren. I’m so following this blog now. Wonderful, open & honest posts about life and love and the open lifestyle.
  • The Ministry of Peculiar Occurrences. A new podcasted Steampunk short story every fortnight. And now they’re available via eBook Penny Dreadfuls, too! (Yes, that includes my “Dust on the Davenport” story. Check it out!)
  • A Newbie’s Guide to Publishing. Konrath. Self-publishing guru’s blog. He tells it like it is, folks, and he’s making a mint doing it.
  • Dean Wesley Smith. Another man who doesn’t pull any punches with the publishing industry and the harsh truths of its changes.
  • Beyond Victoriana. The awesome Ay-leen the Peacemaker’s blog on Multiculturalism in Steampunk. Brilliant.
  • Doctor Fantastique’s Show of Wonders. The delightful Matthew Delman’s blog on all things Steampunk (plus a magazine, too!). I’ve had the honor of writing as a convention correspondent for this blog once or twice. Awesomeness.
  • Christine Rose. Okay, so this is cheating. But it’s my blog, so nyeah! My alter-ego’s blog and podcast on topics around publishing and marketing for the emerging author.

~ by omgrey on September 12, 2011.

Please Share Your Thoughts...

 
