My Father the Ethical Slut

Columnist Stanley Siegel pointed me to this great article his daughter wrote entitled “My Father the Ethical Slut,” and I found it quite inspiring.

Original Article in Psychology Today.

Excerpt:

Rather than having a father who towers above you, warning about the risks of sex, instilling fear about it, who rather than judging and guarding your development to determine whether or not you have become sexually active, instead asks if you feel you are ready and have any questions, then hands you some condoms and tells you to have fun.

What would you do?

Well, most people would probably answer that they would do just that. Have fun. Experiment. Maybe even go a little crazy. But not me. Oh, no.

That’s not to say that I didn’t start having sex in my teen years. It’s just that I looked at my free pass, my dance card, with skepticism. Hesitation. If my parents weren’t going to guard my sacred virginity like a lion at the gate, then I guess it was my responsibility to make a decision about what I wanted to do with it.

Also read his viral article “In Defense of Casual Sex

~ by omgrey on January 13, 2012.

Please Share Your Thoughts...

 
