Embracing Surrender & Finding Peace

20120226-215755.jpgAnd so it’s happened.

I get it.

It was on the flight from Atlanta to Dallas after a nap, listening to the gentle voice of Eckhart Tolle read The Power of Now. Words I’ve heard him read countless times, for I always listen to Tolle when I go for a run or in times of anxiety, if I wasn’t too far gone in the fear to remember to listen. I’ve heard his words again and again, but this time I truly heard the words. I felt them cause a shift in my consciousness, and I was overcome with a deep sense of peace.

Surrender.

Surrender to the pain. Go into it. Don’t try to avoid it or deny it, for that causes more pain. In fact, these were the exact words I said to my beloved last week. I knew that was required to transcend pain, but I didn’t realize until that moment on the plane that I had not been going into the pain myself. I thought I was, but I was trying to avoid it just like he was.

I deal with it every day. Pain, fear, anxiety. But every day I reach out to friends, old & new, to talk about it. Tell my story. Search for answers. Anything to find a distraction, to try and escape.

But by trying to escape, by seeking solace & support, I just kept the pain cycling through my brain. By trying to escape it, I was actually holding onto it.

When the next twinge of pain from the loss comes, or just the normal fears that pop up in the egoic mind, I will sit with it. Be fully present with it. Feel it deeply and acknowledge it. Let my heart break open wide and then be filled up and healed by the peace and love that emanates from within me. From all life. As they are one.

And by going into it, I will transcend it once again. Just like I did today.

This very thing I told my beloved we could do together, and I still would love the opportunity to have a relationship as a spiritual practice with him, today I realize I can transcend the pain on my own.

I found peace on my own.

My heart calls out to him, hoping we can share this new-found peace and mingle it with our beautiful love, but if he doesn’t hear…or isn’t ready to hear…that’s okay, too. I’m really fine on my own, and I know there will be many more tender hearts with whom to share this love.

I just really hope he’s one of them.

Namaste, friends. I can’t thank you all enough for your support and time and care over the last week. James CA & James K. Alphasiren. Jason. Thomas. Sam. Virginia. Keith. Erin. Gabe. Jessica. Dr. Q. Reid. Marcus. Michael. Spencer. John. Sweet Lazuli.

And, forever, Ethan.

Now, which is all that exists, I am so happy. So at peace. And it comes from within.
Breathing out, I smile.

~ by omgrey on February 27, 2012.

6 Responses to “Embracing Surrender & Finding Peace”

  1. “My heart calls out to him, hoping we can share this new-found peace and mingle it with our beautiful love, but if he doesn’t hear…or isn’t ready to hear…that’s okay, too. I’m really fine on my own, and I know there will be many more tender hearts with whom to share this love.”

    Beautiful. Powerful. Exactly what I needed to hear. I envy your peace and hope to find mine soon.

    • Thank you for your comment. That peace I found was profound, albeit fleeting. Still, it lasted longer than it had ever before. I’m one step closer to enlightenment. And I’ve been able to find it again in moments since. I’ll keep practicing until the peace is the norm and the fleeting moments are those of insanity.

      May you find peace.

  2. […] Embracing Surrender & Finding Peace (omgrey.wordpress.com) […]

  3. […] are cast out as psychotic, criminal or irresponsible. It would therefore stand that to willingly relinquish control would seem to be of the highest social […]

  4. […] Embracing Surrender & Finding Peace […]

  5. […] who have followed my blog throughout the past three years, you might remember a post called “Embracing Surrender & Finding Peace” that I wrote shortly after the rapes in early 2012. This was before I accepted what had […]

Please Share Your Thoughts...